top of page

Tournament History

Since 2001, the Allegheny Amateur has been proud to host Virginia's finest amateur competitors. Each champion has added to the allure of the event and to that of amateur golf in the Commonwealth.


In 2001, Virginia Tech student and native South African, Brendon de Jonge, won the first Allegheny Amateur. One was not enough, however, as de Jonge won the event again in 2002. de Jonge claimed victory for a third time in 2003 shortly before turning professional and embarking on a stellar career on the highest professional tours of the world.


In 2004, Jeffrey Topp won the event in a playoff over Brian Hill to give the event its first champion via extra holes. Both men fired matching rounds of 70-71, but it was Topp who came out the victor on the second playoff hole.


In 2005, collegian Daniel Hurley (George Mason) claimed the title with a four stroke victory over Miller Baber. Hurley had rounds of 71-67 in route to securing the championship.


Blacksburg's own Lanto Griffin saw victory in 2006 with a three shot win over Joey McLister. Griffin went on to have a stellar career at Virginia Commonwealth University and is currently a touring professional.


2007 saw Tazewell's Garland Green hold off a strong field to win his first VSGA points event. The win at the Allegheny Amateur saw Green add to his already stellar 2007 season. Weeks earlier, Green helped Virginia Tech earn their first Atlantic Coast Conference team championship in Men's Golf.


Adam Webb of Ridgeway, Virginia, came to the Allegheny Amateur on a mission in 2008 and shot the course and tournament record of 61 on Day 2, and tied the overall tournament record of 134. Webb successfully defended his title in 2009 and finished as the only player under par on a windy June afternoon.


One of the VSGA's top competitors of all time, Keith Decker, came and competed in his first Allegheny Amateur in 2010. The Martinsville native birdied the last four holes of regulation competition to force a playoff with 2006 champion Lanto Griffin. Decker knocked off Griffin in the playoff and claimed his place as a champion of the 2010 Allegheny Amateur.


Keith Decker returned to defend his title in 2011, but was knocked off by Blacksburg's Ryan Mondy. Mondy lead from wire to wire with rounds of 68 and 70 to defeat Decker by one stroke.


In 2012, Scott Vincent of Harare, Zimbabwe, became the next Virginia Tech golfer to taste victory at the Allegheny Amateur. Amongst a deep field, Vincent found himself six shots back of the lead after day one, but exploded in the final round from a 63 to finish at -9 for the day and for the tournament.


In 2013, Ryan Mondy won for his second time in just three years. The Blacksburg local posted a pair of 68's to claim the title after having just won in 2011.


Virginia Tech's Trevor Cone claimed a hard earned, one-stroke victory over Hokies teammate Maclain Huge for the 2014 crown. Cone would go on to wrap up a stellar senior season by winning the ACC individual championship in April 2015.


Kyle Bailey of Fincastle captured the 2015 championship coming from three strokes behind following day one competition. Bailey carded matching 70's to win the event by two shots over Bristol's Ben Campbell.

In a rain-shortened event, Blacksburg teenager Chris Zhang won the 2016 event with a 68. Zhang is the youngest winner of the Allegheny Amateur at 15 years of age.

Allegheny Amateur Champions


2001 - Brendon De Jonge

2002 - Brendon De Jonge

2003 - Brendon De Jonge

2004 - Jeffrey Topp

2005 - Daniel Hurley

2006 - Lanto Griffin

2007 - Garland Green

2008 - Adam Webb

2009 - Adam Webb

2010 - Keith Decker

2011 - Ryan Mondy

2012 - Scott Vincent

2013 - Ryan Mondy

2014 - Trevor Cone

2015 - Kyle Bailey

2016 - Chris Zhang

2017 -  Garland Green

2018 - Matt Chandler


Senior Division Champions


2001 - Dick Wagner

2002 - No Champion

2003 - Ned Baber

2004 - Roger Brizendine

2005 - Dick Wagner

2006 - Roger Brizendine

2007 - Al Looney

2008 - Charles Green

2009 - Bill Nunnenkamp

2010 - Tom Grady

2011 - Bill Nunnenkamp

2012 - Tim Kelley

2013 - Charles Green

2014 - Mike Yuhas

2015 - Jack Allara

2016 - Jack Allara

2017 - Jack Allara

2018 - Keith Decker


Super Senior Division Champions


2008 - Ned Baber

2009 - Bill Proffitt

2010 - Marvin Taylor

2011 - Al Looney

2012 - Barrett Cawood

2013 - George McClelland

2014 - Richard Suggs

2015 - Richard Suggs

2016 - Bill Proffitt

2017 - Bill Nunnenkamp

2018 - Chips Wooddy 


bottom of page